top of page

High School Musical: The Musical: The Series

Whew. Try saying that five times fast.

.

 

Troy Bolton. Gabriella Montez. Sharpay and Ryan Evans. Chad, Taylor, and the entire East High Wildcats. Yep, I'm talking about High School Musical. But... I'm not here to talk about that High School Musical. The Disney Channel Original Movie that swept the nation by surprise with over 17.3 million viewers and stole my little heart at 8 years old, now has an addition to the saga ,available exclusively on Disney+, "High School Musical: The Musical: The Series". (HSMTMTS)

Now, when it was announced an HSM rendition was in the works I was totally against it. I grew up loving, quoting and dancing to the movie, so the thought of it getting remade was weird for me. Usually, I am the number one person yelling "Don't make remakes!", but I decided to give it a chance. Ten minutes in and I fell in love.

In the comment sections of some of the DisneyVEVO music videos of this new cast and series, were statements like "The original cast is better" or "This isn't the HSM4 I wanted"... and they're right. It's NOT. It's not like the original because this new series is an independent project aside from what we grew up loving. High School Musical: The Musical: The Series focuses on the students of the "real" East High, where HSM (2006) was shot. In this world, HSM is merely a loveable movie (like it is to us). The show is heavily influenced by the movie but not to the point where it is forced or cringe-worthy. What attracted and pulled me into this new world were the characters and the angle/direction the series takes on teenage television.

 

The New Class

This series creates a path for the new wildcats to embark on a journey of discovery and the value of teamwork. HSMTMTS- like stated earlier- is set at East High, where the new drama teacher, Ms. Jenn, is eager to put on a theatrical production of HSM at the original campus. We follow the story of Nini ( a junior theater enthusiasts who is learning to power in her choices), EJ (Nini's ex-boyfriend, and musical theater hater), E.J (jock, theater buff, oh! and Nini's new boyfriend), Kourtney and Big Red (Nini and Rickey's best friends respectively), Ashlyn (E.J's cousin with a powerful voice for a powerful ballad), and Carlos (the student choreographer who belongs on Broadway). One of the most refreshing aspects of the show is the fact that the actors are all young and look as if they are in high school, giving a realistic and relatable tone to the show.

These new Wildcats are unquestionably amazing and incredibly talented. Disney never fails in selecting kids with supernatural singing abilities and dynamic performers.

The Angle and Direction

I appreciate the idea that the premise is to pay homage to the movie without having the relay on the plot of HSM. Yes, the students are recreating the movie for a school production but that's it. Their issues, relationships, and development is completely innovative. I like the idea of the show being a "mockumentary" where the students can tell us, the audience, their feelings, and perception of what is going down at East High. We get offside camera looks, dialogue in between scenes and characters' thoughts throughout each episode.

Now, of course, one of my favorite components of the series is the original music. There are only two episodes out currently but I have been playing two songs from the soundtrack back to back to back to back; "I Think I Kinda, You Know"(the duet version) a simple love song between Nini and Ricky, and "Wondering", a powerful ballad written by Ashlyn :) for her HSM character. I'm truly looking forward to what else these kids bring to the table for the next eight episodes.

 

I found HSMTMTS to be impressive. I like the originality, the songs, the actors, and the overall plot of the story and how its not trying to be a remake. That's what I was afraid of but now I'm hooked. The minute after I finished episode two I watched HSM 1 and 2, along with in-room choreography. #NotAshamed.

But I definitely say give it a chance because I can see it aimed for people grew up with the movie (like me) and the younger ones who have developed that love.

Its truly the start of something new and if you're a true Wildcat fan... getcha head in the game because we're all in this together!

bottom of page