top of page

Netflix's Hit Movie: Bird Box


All week, the number one craze was about the new Netflix Original Film, Bird Box, starring Sandra Bullock. I couldn't scroll on Twitter without seeing the hashtag every two tweets... no exaggeration. Netflix confirmed today that within 7 days of the film's debut, over 45 million people have watched. After Christmas, I finally watched the new phenomenon. I enjoyed this movie, although there were a few things I thought were missing. This review will contain spoilers so if you have not seen it yet, come back to this later!

The best thing about the movie was the acting. Sandra Bullock never fails to deliver a great performance. The cast includes Sarah Paulson, Trevante Rhodes, John Malkovich, Lil Rel Howry and more. The kids, I thought did a great job with little dialogue. They showed fear, concern, and hurt by just their facial expressions and body language. The movie is a post-apocalyptic fantasy, making audiences think what extremes would they be forced to do in a world crisis. It really reminded me of John Krasinski's "A Quiet Place" but with a different sense removed, not talking to survive, they aren't allowed to see. There are many similarities between these two movies throughout like having to trail to find food to survive, only "seeing"/"talking" inside, and the idea of staying together as a "family".

I thought the writing could be a little better. The ending left me with many questions such as what exactly were they looking at? Why did it make them commit suicide? Why were there people who did not commit suicide? Where did Lucy and Felix go? That was weird. I would have liked to learn a little bit more about some of the characters before this "End of the World" scare happened. And I found it predictable because you see and the beginning who is on the boat. The flashbacks show why but it left the stakes unfulfilled because I already knew who was not going to make it.

The excessive hype of the film on social media seemed over-exaggerated after finally watching. Now, there were some scenes I thought was done beautifully, and those where the ones mainly with Malorie and the kids because it shows the length a mother will go to protect her kids. Due to the constant tweeting and rave about Bird Box, my expectations were extremely high. I was ready to be thrilled and also talk endlessly about this movie. Now, don't get me wrong, I really enjoyed watching and was engaged, but I didn't get what I was expecting from the numerous Twitter posts. I do think this is a good Netflix film and worth the watch.

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts on the movie? Was there a character who you agreed with the most?

bottom of page