top of page

The Bold Type

Bold is definitely the word to describe the women of the Freeform series, "The Bold Type". Jane (Katie Stevens), Kat (Aisha Dee), and Sutton (Meghann Fahy) are three fierce besties taking New York by storm as they hurdle daily obstacles instilled in today's modern society.  Working for the women's magazine, Scarlet, each and every day , they try to make the world a better place for women whether it is encouraging political engagement or the exploration of a female's sexuality, the possibilities are endless yet their goal remains the same. To motivate.  Throughout the series, they notably display that taking risks in your life is needed in order to get what you want and be successful. Dealing with the tangles in relationships, feminism, friends, work heartbreak, freedom, and SO MUCH more, "The Bold Type" captures the true essence of what it is like being a woman in 2018. 

Season 2 premiered on June 12, and I couldn't have been more excited. I began watching, more like binge watching, the series a week earlier and fell completely in love with all of the characters, their stories, even the secondary characters such as Jacqueline (Melora Hardin) and Adena (Nikhol Boosheri). These women are  extremely empowering and I honestly made emotional connections with ALL of them. I was remarkably pleased with the first two episodes released on Tuesday. 

 

I absolutely love that Jane, Sutton, and Aisha experience healthy relationships.  Granted they go each go through various hardships, the fact that they have open and honest talks that allow them to work through whatever problems they may have. They know whats best for them and will not settle for less.  Juggling what you like, what you need, as well as figuring out how to have both can be either frustrating or liberating (sometimes even both) and I believe the writers truly grasped the reality of the challenges in relationships (including the tear-jerking heartbreaks).

"The Bold Type" embodies what it is like to be bold, progressive and classy. A key factor that stands out to me (besides the brutal honesty embedded within each episode) but the modernization of the lifestyles. Whether its Kat, Sutton, Jane, Adena or even Alex, every character has a unique style that perfectly fits their personality. The lifestyles their living is not as luxurious as the New York contemporary architecture- bright, colorful, glass walls, large windows looking over the city, which makes it all the more relatable. If you are are in your 20’s, trying to figure yourself out, I definitely recommend this show because the writers, along with the actors, make each scene, episode, and emotion realistic to daily tasks that connect with us, I would say, deeper than most shows. 

 

Ultimately,  I really enjoy this show, from Season 1 to Season 2 (so far), each episode allows me the see myself essentially being like these women. Strong. Passionate.  Powerful. Goal Getter. Creative. Intuitive. Having a hunger for success. All of these, and many more, not only describe me but hundreds of thousands of other women who need that extra boost of self-confidence and relatability in their life. Freeform has another hit on their hands and I can't wait to see where it goes. This show inspired me when I felt down and truthfully, helped me gain insight on my purpose (cheesy but true). 

Be sure to watch "The Bold Type" - Tuesdays at 8pm/7c on Freeform. 

I love open discussions so feel free to ask me any questions or let me what you think about the show. Who's your favorite character? What stands out to you about "The Bold Type"? Or anything else you can think of!!

Thank you so much for reading! 

bottom of page