top of page

Marvel's Cloak and Dagger


The network Freeform recently premiered their new television series, in association with Marvel Studios, Cloak and Dagger. The story follows two teenagers from two very different backgrounds who mysteriously receive powers that happen to form a link between them. Now, as big of a Marvel fan I am, I have very little knowledge of these two characters, but I can honestly say that now, I am highly invested in the advancement of Tandy and Tyrone.

Tanday (Olivia Holt) and Tyrone (Aubrey Joesph) exhibit great performances and allow the audience to feel and relate to the characters. Within the first 10 minutes, I found myself deeply invested in the background story of the young versions of Tandy and Tyrone. Very emotional and breathtaking. I really enjoyed the transitions between each story, it reminded me that somehow they are connected and further grasped my attention. Throughout the show, I thought the music suited each scene, or whenever it was used, very nicely.

Cloak and Dagger, both episodes had EXTREMELY strong beginnings and endings, however, the middle did seem a bit prolonged but not to the point of losing interest. It seems as if they are setting the tone for the show, as well as introducing the characters but I hope they don't lose the story or get caught in too much backstory/introductions. But, nonetheless, I am very excited to tune in every week and see what adventure or obstacles Tandy and Tyrone, how they will eventually team up, what causes their powers to spark.

Ultimately, I really liked the show and I can't wait for episode 3!

Marvel's Cloak and Dagger: Thursday's at 8pm/7c on Freeform.

Have you seen Cloak and Dagger? Did you find it enjoyable? So far, what are your feelings toward Tandy and Tyrone? Let me know what you think! See you next time, when you chill with me!

Sidenote: I have a lot of reviews on Freeform shows. I've been loving their programs, as well as the network as a whole.

bottom of page