top of page

Truth or Dare?


Blumhouse Productions, you may know from their latest movies, "Happy Death Day" and "Get Out", brings a new, interesting twist to the beloved game of Truth or Dare. The movie stars well-known actors such as Lucy Hale (Pretty Little Liars) and Tyler Posey (Teen Wolf), which played a key role into me wanting to see them in new roles. However, in the end, I was actually disappointed. Not in the actors specifically but the in the film as a whole.

Ultimately the concept of the movie I found interesting and unique, but the overall delivery seemed like a "miss" in my eyes. A group of college friends goes on a Spring Break trip to Mexico, where they play the game Truth or Dare, yet the game follows them home with the unfortunate twist, if the player asked does not fulfill their dare or answer truthfully, they die. Personally, I am a very scary person,so I was surprised that I was relaxed throughout the majority of the movie.

A problem I had with this movie, was that I did not feel any connection with any of the characters. So essentially, when characters died, I did not feel an emotional attachment to that paticular person. Many of the events, characters, and parts of the plot, I found unaffecting, predictable and not memorable. Although I do remember one character because she annoyed me throughout the whole movie.

The ending was .... not what I expected at all. It felt kind of abrupt as if they were running out of time to make a grounded conclusion.

Overall, I was not impressed with this movie. When I first saw the trailer months ago, I was intrigued, mainly at the creepy smiley faces, but ended up leaving disappointed.

Have you seen Truth or Dare? What did you think about it? Thank you so much for reading. See you next time when you Chill with Ash! Byyyyee!!

bottom of page