top of page

Top 5 Anticipated Movies of 2018

Of all the places to go, the movie theatre is my favorite. I love watching the trailers before the show, grabbing popcorn and candy, the lights dimming, and the overall feeling when the movie comes on the big screen. Before we get too far into the year, I wanted to share the movies that I am most looking forward to seeing. The following movies are in no particular order. 

 

1. Black Panther This movie has been on my calendar since 2014 and to finally see it come to life is mind-blowing. The visuals, costumes, the scenery is stunning, just from the trailers alone. This cast is extraordinary: Chadwick Boseman, Michael B. Jordan, Danai Guiera, Lupita Nygon'o, Daniel Kaluuya, Andy Serkis, Martin Freeman... the list goes on! To add on to the excitement for this movie, Kendrick Lamar curated the album along with other artists such as The Weeknd, SZA, and Khalid. Black Panther is a movie you definitely do not want to miss. In theatres February 16. 

 

2. Avengers Infinity War This movie is the movie that ALLLLL previous Marvel movies (Iron Man (2008) - Black Panther (2018)) have been leading up to. 10 years of anticipation. 10 years worth of character development. 10 years worth of end credit scenes. Infinity War is THE movie that every Marvel fan is going to fanboy/fangirl over, including me. I already have my box of tissues ready. In theatres May 4.

 

3. Incredibles 2 The first Incredibles movie came out in 2004... I was 6 years old. When this movie comes out, you can bet your bottom dollar that I will be in the theatre as if I am still a child! Many others, like myself, have waited 14 years for a sequel. (Parents don't be surprised if you take your kids to the movies and its a bunch of adults in the theatre. We love Pixar too)!. The Parr family is going to take over the theatres. Make sure you're there! In theatres June 15. 

 

4. Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald When the first Fantastic Beasts came out in 2016, I instantly fell in love with the movie, the characters, and the magical world all over again.. Set in the 1920's and in America, I enjoyed going on the adventure with Newt and Jacob. I am highly intrigued on how they will interact and the new journey they will encounter in the sequel. In theatres November 16. 

 

5. Ready Player One During the trailer portion of the movie theatre, this movie caught my attention. It is a thriller and fantasy film combined, where an entire virtual world exists. Set in the year 2045, the world is in chaos and a huge fortune has been planted in the online reality to be given to the contest winner. From the trailers, it looks engaging, filled with amazing effects, and multiple references from the past. I can honestly say I am looking forward to the visuals and story of this movie. In theatres March 19. 

 

Some honorable mentions;

Deadpool 2  Ant-Man and the Wasp Annihilation Mary Poppins Return Solo: A Star Wars Story

What are some movies you are most looking forward to? Do you agree with my top 5??  Let me know! See yall next time when you chill with me! 

bottom of page